Google is taking an unusual route to securing electricity for the artificial-intelligence buildout: instead of waiting for a new power plant, it is paying for a large pool of homes and businesses to use less power when the grid is under pressure. The company and demand-response operator Voltus said Oct. 22 that they are expanding a virtual power plant across PJM from an earlier 100-megawatt agreement to a program described by Google as 1 gigawatt. Voltus and independent reporting put the expanded figure at up to 1,070 megawatts.
What Google and Voltus announced
Google’s primary announcement, published Oct. 22, says the companies will build a 1-gigawatt virtual power plant in the PJM region. PJM is the regional transmission organization coordinating wholesale electricity in all or parts of 13 states and the District of Columbia, according to PJM’s own overview. Google says the territory serves 67 million people and calls the move a tenfold expansion of a 100-MW agreement reached earlier in 2026.
Voltus’s same-day release uses a more precise but potentially confusing formulation. It says the new announcement represents an additional 1,070 MW of capacity, alongside the initial 100 MW agreement. The New York Times describes Voltus as providing Google with up to 1,070 MW. The public materials do not clearly reconcile whether 1,070 MW is an incremental figure, a target for the expanded portfolio, or the practical capacity being procured. The defensible headline is therefore an expanded program of about 1 GW, not a claim that the documents establish a separate 1.17-GW total.
The baseline is better documented. Voltus’s June announcement described a three-year Bring Your Own Capacity agreement to aggregate up to 100 MW of accredited distributed energy resources each year in PJM. The resources were to come from homes and businesses, with Voltus paying participating customers. The Oct. 22 expansion is an agreement to assemble capacity, not evidence that a finished 1-GW asset is already operating.
How the virtual power plant works
A virtual power plant is a software-coordinated portfolio, not a single facility. Voltus enrolls many small resources and treats their combined flexibility as capacity that can be offered into the electricity market. The portfolio may include smart thermostats, batteries, on-site generation, electric-vehicle resources, and industrial equipment whose processes can be shifted or briefly reduced.
When PJM is strained, Voltus can signal enrolled sites. A thermostat might raise an air-conditioning set point, a battery might discharge, or a factory could postpone a flexible process. These actions reduce grid demand at the most valuable moment. They do not create new electricity like a generating plant; they free existing supply for other loads.
The customer incentive is central. Google funds the capacity commitment, while Voltus says participants can receive bill savings or direct payments. That design turns a hyperscaler’s need for capacity into a local revenue stream, but performance still depends on recruiting participants, connecting devices, and measuring reductions.
This is why the capacity number should not be read like a generator nameplate. A 1-GW VPP target represents flexible capacity under defined conditions; delivery will depend on weather, customer availability, device limits, market rules, and event duration. Its value is greatest during peak or emergency hours, when a short reduction can help preserve reliability or delay a costly supply investment.
Why this is an AI infrastructure story
The AI link is about electricity demand, not about a new model. The Times reports that technology companies are struggling to find enough power for data centers built to support artificial intelligence. In PJM, which includes major data-center clusters such as Northern Virginia, the paper says data-center growth has outpaced new power-plant construction and that electricity prices have risen since 2024. That context explains why Google is pursuing a demand-side contract alongside other efforts involving nuclear power and more flexible operation of its own data centers.
For a hyperscaler, the attraction is speed. A conventional generation project can require years of permitting, equipment procurement, interconnection work, and construction. A demand-response portfolio can begin with existing resources, although recruiting and qualifying them is substantial. Utility Dive reports that Voltus expects a three-to-four-year ramp; a spokesperson told the publication that the Google contract would run through 2040.
The strategy also responds to a political problem: who should pay when data centers raise local demand and pressure power markets. Google and Voltus present the VPP as a way for the large load to bring capacity and payments to the same region. That does not settle questions about emissions, noise, water use, transmission upgrades, or hour-by-hour matching.
What the agreement does not prove
First, the announcement is a commitment to develop and procure flexible capacity, not a completed plant. The three-to-four-year ramp reported by Utility Dive means the full target is prospective. Google has not disclosed financial terms or published a participant list, site-by-site capacity schedule, or measurement-and-verification report for the expansion.
Second, reliability remains an open question. Aggregated devices can respond quickly, but households may opt out, batteries may be empty, and industrial processes may have little flexibility left. The Times reports that utilities and grid operators remain wary about whether distributed resources will consistently deliver when called. Ryan Hledik of the Brattle Group told the paper that operational trust is still a hurdle.
Third, a demand-response event is not permanent new supply. It can cover a peak interval and reduce the need for additional capacity, but it cannot eliminate generation, transmission, and storage as consumption grows. The Times describes the approach as a potentially faster, cheaper, and less-polluting interim option, while noting that technology companies may ultimately need traditional power plants for continued data-center expansion.
Finally, the capacity comparison needs care. Google’s rounded 1-GW description is useful for scale, while Voltus’s 1,070-MW figure is more precise. The disagreement is not necessarily substantive; it may reflect different descriptions of the same expansion. But until the companies publish a clear accounting of the 100-MW baseline and the 1,070-MW addition, readers should avoid treating the numbers as a precisely defined operating total.
FAQ
Is Google building a new power plant?
No. The announced project is a virtual power plant. Voltus will aggregate existing or newly enrolled flexible resources, such as batteries, thermostats, and industrial loads, and coordinate them during stressed grid conditions. The arrangement provides capacity by reducing demand rather than by constructing one new generating station.
How much capacity is in the expanded program?
Google describes the program as 1 GW. Voltus says the Oct. 22 announcement represents an additional 1,070 MW, while the Times reports up to 1,070 MW. Because the public releases do not spell out whether that precise figure is incremental to or inclusive of the earlier 100 MW, the safest description is an expanded portfolio of roughly 1 GW.
Does the VPP power Google’s data centers directly?
The sources support a grid-capacity and demand-response arrangement in PJM, not a dedicated wire from participating homes or businesses to a named Google facility. When enrolled resources reduce demand, capacity is made available to the wider regional system. The project is intended to support Google’s operations and data-center growth in that market, but it is not a private power plant reserved exclusively for one campus.
Will participating customers be paid?
Yes, according to Google and Voltus. Their releases say participating customers can receive economic benefits including bill savings and direct payments. The companies have not disclosed the contract’s overall financial terms or provided a public schedule showing how payments will vary by customer, event, or performance.
When will the full portfolio be available?
Google’s post does not give a completion date. Utility Dive reports Voltus expects a three-to-four-year ramp to full capacity, based on a statement from a company spokesperson. That means the 1-GW-scale figure should be treated as a development target rather than capacity that can be assumed to be available on Oct. 22, 2026.
The bottom line
Google’s Voltus deal marks a shift in how an AI infrastructure company is trying to obtain electricity. Google is funding a portfolio that asks many customers to become flexible participants. It could unlock capacity faster and share money with communities, but success will be measured by performance under real stress. For now, the confirmed event is the agreement and its roughly 1-GW ambition; delivered capacity, cost, customer experience, and effects on rates remain to be demonstrated.
References
- Google, “We are working with Voltus to build a 1-gigawatt virtual power plant,” Oct. 22, 2026.
- Brad Plumer, The New York Times, “To Make Way for Data Centers, Google Will Pay Others to Use Less Power,” Oct. 22, 2026.
- Voltus, “Google and Voltus Announce One Gigawatt Bring Your Own Capacity Agreement in PJM,” Oct. 22, 2026.
- Voltus, “Voltus and Google to Deliver Grid Capacity and Local Economic Benefits Through Bring Your Own Capacity Agreement,” June 2, 2026.
- Utility Dive, “Google supersizes PJM virtual power plant to more than 1 GW,” Oct. 22, 2026.
- PJM, “About PJM.”
